National Institute of Mental Health

Angoda, Sri Lanka

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Ethics Review Committee

Ethics Review Committee of the NIMH

E-mail Print PDF
Article Index
Ethics Review Committee of the NIMH
Guidelines for Submission
Submission Dates
Protocols Reviewed
Contact Us
All Pages

The Ethics Review Committee (ERC) of the NIMH is a board specialized in reviewing scientific & ethical aspects of research protocols specific to mental health. The ERC of the NIMH has received approval from the Ministry of Health and also a member of the Forum for Ethics Review in Sri Lanka (FERCSL). The ERC is planning to obtain accreditation from the Strategic Initiative for Developing Capacity in Ethical Review (SIDCER) in 2015/2016.

The ERC is responsible to review research proposals submitted to them for ethical consideration, and to make suggestions on improvement of research protocol in keeping with current ethical standards. 

Each proposal is reviewed in-depth by 3 committee members and the other members review a summary of the proposal. The in-depth reviewers are selected depending on the specialty/area of the research project submitted.

Present Members of the ERC (Tenure - June 2015 to May 2016) :

  1. Prof. Harischandra Gambheera (Consultant Psychiatrist, NIMH)

  2. Dr. D.P.D Wijesinghe    (Consultant Psychiatrist, NIMH)

  3. Dr. Kapila Ranasinghe (Consultant Psychiatrist, NIMH)

  4. Dr. Sagarika Jayathilake (Consultant Physician, National Hospital of Sri Lanka)

  5. Dr. Shehan Williams (Consultant Psychiatrist, Head & Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Medicine ,University of Kelaniya)

  6. Dr. Rasika Perera (Senior Lecturer Department of Biochemistry, University of Sri Jayawardanapura)

  7. Dr. Sajeewana Amarasinghe (Consultant Psychiatrist, Base Hospital - Tangalle)

  8. Dr. Prathiba Mahanawa (Dean - Faculty of Law, Kothalwala Defence University)

  9. Dr. Dulani Samaranayake (Consultant Community Physician/ Senior Lecturer, Department of Community Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, University of Colombo)

10. Mr. T. Suveendran (National Professional Officer, World Health Organization, Sri Lanka)

11. Mr. D. Casie Chetty (Ex-diplomat & Executive Director of the South Asia Policy and Research Institute)

12. Ms. Punya Perera (Senior Psychiatric Social Worker)

13.  Dr. Chamila Abeywickrema (MO, Research & Training Units, NIMH)

14. Dr. Vindya Kumarapeli (Deputy Director, NIMH)

15. Dr. Jayan Mendis (Director, NIMH)

Current Chairperson – Prof. Harischandra Gambheera 

Current Secretary - Dr. Chamila Abeywickrama 

  • All members of the ERC will be appointed for a period of 3 years
  • The ERC will convene at 12 noon on the 3rd Friday of each month


Content View Hits : 512306

Follow us on Facebook